AuD/PhD Dual Degree

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dg2b

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a first year AuD student, and am considering doing the dual degree program offered by my program. Basically, it's an extra year or 2 on campus, with a few extra stats classes, and some classes in a minor area. It also requires more research obviously, and teaching undergrad classes every semester. I'm not too keen on spending 2 extra years in grad school, since I feeling ready to be a "real person" with a "real job," but I also know I will proabably want a PhD at some point later in my career if I don't do it now, and it will be much easier to do now before kids and a full time job.

At this point, I'm not sure whether I prefer the clinical or research aspects of audiology better. I defnitely enjoy seeing patients in clinic, but also like research. However, I don't know if I want to be stuck completely in either one for the rest of my career.

The application deadline is coming up in February or so, and I'm feeling pressured by faculty in my program to apply. I've had 2 professors and my clinical supervisor approach me privately and try to convince me to do it. Yesterday, my assessment professor (who did the dual degree program a few years ago herself) cornered me in the sound booth and told me I *really needed* do it. She told me that I could defnitely handle the work, and there are so many more job opportunities and opportunities for advancement with the PhD.

Anyone else doing a dual degree? Are you glad you are doing it, or is it just a waste of time? Know of anyone who has a dual degree but regrets it?

Members don't see this ad.