Ask a general surgery resident anything

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

moneyman698

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, I'm a current PGY3 general surgery resident at an academic program in the northeast. I used to float on these forums a lot when I was a premed student and figured I'd give back some perspective on what it's currently like to be a general surgery resident. I loved when residents would come back and give some insight into medical and surgical training as a whole. I have the weekend off and headed back to work next week so forgive me if my responses are delayed.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 4 users
Thanks for doing this!!
Why gen surg? What are the bread and butter operations you do? What are your favorite operations to do?

Thanks for doing this!!
Why gen surg? What are the bread and butter operations you do? What are your favorite operations to do?
Coming into medical school I wanted nice lifestyle and balance. I was originally interested in emergency medicine but my first 3rd year rotation was general surgery and I developed a passion for surgical critical care and trauma surgery. I realized to most exciting aspects of trauma happens in the operating room, not the ER, at least for me. I'm sure ER docs feel differently. I struggled with the lifestyle but then spoke to a few attendings on the field of acute care surgery and how it can be conducive to a nice lifestyle.

Bread and butter operations are lap choleys, lap appys, hernias, and wound debridements. Oddly enough, I love going into chest so open thoracotomies, generally in a trauma setting are my favorite operaitons.

Members don't see this ad :)
Hi, what does a typical day look like for you? Thanks!