All Branch Topic (ABT) Army Reserves questions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

skiandraft

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, I am an Internal Medicine resident and I am working on applying to the Army Reserves. I have some questions about how things might look once I finish my training and enter the reserves. One of the questions is I was told by my recruiters that I will need to complete two months of training once I finish my residency/fellowship.
My question is how this will work as I would at the same time need to prepare to take my boards? Considering I would need to postpone a start date for any job to complete my military training, would I need to be studying for my boards while finishing my military training? Or would I be able to start a civilian job and complete my military training at a later date? How do civilian employers adapt to a physician having to take time off for military commitments? Would I have the potential to consider leaving a practice?

The second question is that I was told that as a physician I would not be expected to have to physically be present for a drill once a month. That a scenario such as being able to work my civilian job as a reservist for one weekend or to use conferences or an online module would suffice as my monthly drill. Does this sound like what actually happens? What does a monthly drill look like as an Army Reserve physician? Thanks for any help clarifying these things?

Members don't see this ad.

Hello, I am an Internal Medicine resident and I am working on applying to the Army Reserves. I have some questions about how things might look once I finish my training and enter the reserves. One of the questions is I was told by my recruiters that I will need to complete two months of training once I finish my residency/fellowship.