Air Force Are you required to apply for a residency deferment?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

marinehrnt

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a 3rd year student that is considering EM in the AF. Looking at the available positions available this year there were 16 military spots and 16 deferred spots (not sure if these are all actually filled). Curious if applying for a deferment is required or can you just apply for the military positions? I have 8 years prior service and really don't want to do a deferment and miss out on several years of time in service and higher pay by doing a civilian residency. Thanks for the help.

Members don't see this ad.

Generally speaking, you'll apply for your top 5 choices in the match. I don't know how many EM positions the AF has. I assume it isn't 5. That means that the last "x" number will be "transitional" or some other choice outside of EM. When the match occurs, they will try to match you into your choices top to bottom. If you do not match into the EM programs that the AF has to offer, you will be considered for deferrment based upon the needs of the AF. If you don't rank among their top 32 (16 military + 16 deferred) EM applicants, then they will match you into one of your non-EM choices as dictated by your top 5 choices.

Generally speaking, you'll apply for your top 5 choices in the match. I don't know how many EM positions the AF has. I assume it isn't 5. That means that the last "x" number will be "transitional" or some other choice outside of EM. When the match occurs, they will try to match you into your choices top to bottom. If you do not match into the EM programs that the AF has to offer, you will be considered for deferrment based upon the needs of the AF. If you don't rank among their top 32 (16 military + 16 deferred) EM applicants, then they will match you into one of your non-EM choices as dictated by your top 5 choices.