Are my chances for a BS/MD ruined?

MedicalAspirations

I’m not good at usernames
Reaction score
I’m an incoming sophomore. I have no hospital volunteering, shadowing, or research yet. The problem is I live in a small town and I couldn’t find any hospitals that would let me volunteer at 14. I’m 15 now and found a hospital that lets 15 year olds volunteer but I’m afraid it may be too late. I plan on shadowing a few doctors sophomore year summer/ junior year. A college near by has a chemistry research internship I’m hoping to be involved in junior year summer. Taking this into consideration could I still have a shot at BS/MD programs? I’m a URM currently in all honors with a 4.0 gpa and other extracurriculars: art club, key club, french club, and in a club that promotes diversity in my town. Next year I’ll be joining academic team (quiz bowl) and volunteering at a hospital.

Members don't see this ad.

First, let me ask why do you want to do a BS/MD? What is your motivation for that? Which programs are you interested in specifically?

Now, I do not think you have ruined your chances at these programs considering you will only be a sophomore in the fall. Unfortunately, for someone at your age, shadowing is complicated even more than usual because you cannot drive yourself to and from the locations you need. I suggest emailing and calling as many physicians as you can to get a little shadowing in. Ask your PCP if any colleagues would be agreeable to that and specifically explain why. Work on volunteering outside of the hospital setting. There are often many more avenues for that than there are for clinical volunteering.

Reactions: 1 users