Are all med schools this liberal?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Trismegistus4

Credential Non-Respecter
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm in my first year, and I admit it, I'm pretty unhappy so far. The reason is that I'm a stranger in a strange land. It seems like just about all of my classmates are blue-state, Volvo-driving, NPR-listening, New York Times-reading leftists who are passionate liberals on both "health" (i.e., socialized medicine, banning tobacco, taxing fatty foods, etc.) and general (same-sex marriage, abortion, taxes, etc.) issues. In addition, our school has a weekly seminar in which we've "learned" such gems as:

• When seeing an adolescent patient, it's important to kick their parents out of the room so you can talk to them about their sexual activity and offer them contraception without their parents' knowledge
  • When seeing a female patient, it's important to ask her if she feels "safe at home" (i.e., accuse her husband, excuse me, "partner," of beating her)
  • A complete medical history includes a sexual history, and its' essential to ask the patient whether they are active with "men, women, or both" (even if it's a 75-year-old widow)
Of course, if the purpose of this is to liberalize us, it's pointless since all of my classmates except me are already 100% on board with it.

I know we live in a basically liberal society, but I didn't expect it to be this bad. I thought there might be some of this stuff in the air around me, this being a university and all, but it would be easy to just shrug it off and concentrate on studying medicine. But it's proven very demoralizing; it's hard to hunker down and study biochem pathways when you're constantly being reminded that all of your future colleagues, and even the very profession you're entering as a whole, are hell-bent on destroying Western civilization.