Appropriate to challenge grade-determining exam question?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

helloidk1234

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

Just hoping to get some feedback on my current situation if some of you are willing to offer your input. I am current SMP student that received an acceptance to my #1 program pending that I receive no grade below a B in the program. I have scored well above average in all courses except anatomy in which I've made mostly B's except for one really poor exam grade. I studied incredibly hard for our final exam and was devastated to learn that I was less than 0.2 points away (just one question) from the B that I needed. The most frustrating part is that several of the questions that I missed were on material that I knew but were vaguely presented. For example, one practical question showed a horizontal rectangle overlapping both the renal sinus and the hilum on a transverse cross section of the kidney, for which I incorrectly put "hilum" after briefly debating. The very next practical question was just an arrow pointing to the hilum on the medial border of the kidney. Since I had listed "hilum" for the previous question (there are usually no repeat answers), I answered "medial border" recalling an almost identical picture from our lecture powerpoint pointing to the same area indicating the medial border. Though apparently, the desired answer was "hilum".