Apply upcoming cycle or take another gap year? How do you know when you’re ready to apply?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

niv777

Reaction score
Basically the question above. Should I apply for 2025 cycle or take another year off to apply for 2026 cycle?

I graduated spring 2023. For stats rn I have a 3.9 cgpa, ~150 nonclinical, 35 hrs shadowing, got a scribe job this august, (+ recently started hospice volunteering), and 200+ research hrs in a neuropsych lab. i didn’t think of applying to med school until my senior year hence the 0 clinical hrs upon graduation. Planning on taking the mcat in January to apply for 2025 cycle.

My advisor encourages me to apply 2025 cycle (if I do well with the mcat) but if I’m being super honest with myself, I’m not ready. Or not sure if it’s ample time from now til 2025 cycle to be competitive. I feel like I’d be putting together a sloppy app for that cycle trying to juggle everything. Or maybe it’s doable, to apply and have a lot going on at the same time? I’m thinking that if I take another gap year and apply 2026 cycle (would have 3 gap years in total by then), I feel like I’d be in a better spot time wise and financially: I have ample time to study for the mcat, work, explore other passions outside med, ample time to write a good app, travel, etc.

But everyone (from parents to premed advisors) advise that I should apply soon and not “waste another year” since 3 years are too long of a gap but all I want to focus on rn is myself (ie learning how to better deal with my mental health, hobbies, clinical job, etc.). So I guess what im getting here is: how do you know when you’re ready to apply vs. take another year off? Or for those who applied recently or got in, how did you know when you were ready?