Applied this year, looks really bleak. Helpful advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

GOINGBALD42

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I applied to 11 PA schools this year and got rejected on 7 of them so far. I am waiting on western, touro, and scu, but it is so late in the cycle and people have been getting interviews and acceptances already. I graduated with a biology degree from a UC school. The PA schools that I have not been rejected to are my instate schools. My gpa is pretty weak which is at 3.1 cumulative gpa and 3.0 science gpa. I have HCE hours as a chiropractic assistant about 3 years worth. This is my first time applying. I don't think I will get into any programs this year. The only positive so far was that I received an invite only supplemental application at Touro University, but I don't think that means anything. Probably just a way for them to get more money. Preparing for the worst, what should I do to make myself a stronger applicant? Should I try to work as a MA/emt or take a masters?

Members don't see this ad.

You'll probably get an interview invite from Touro, but its not a program I would go to... expensive, long, worthless added on mph. Western is less interested in experience (they proudly state that they require none!) and are more interested in grades because they get a lot of applicants (2400) for the 98 seats they have. Competitive applicants there have GPA's above 3.5, but they will take your application money if you have a 2.7 or above.