Status
Not open for further replies.

Mr.Smile12

Admissions advisor
Staff member
Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, I am currently in my 4th year of a clinical PsyD program. I am going through the APPIC Match process and find myself feeling inadequate. I didn't match in phase I after having 8 interviews and ranking all 8. I only got one interview for phase II so I am preparing myself to go into the PVMS. I am not sure what more I can do to improve my applications/interviews. What suggestions do you have moving forward?
What feedback have you gotten from your program director?

Members don't see this ad.

Just that there were many applicants this year and to continue with the process. I've done mock interviews and my CV, cover letters, and essays were all reviewed by faculty in my program.
Hmm, how do you feel you interview? It is kinda hard to gauge your own interview skills.

I would second the above recommendations RE: seeking guidance from your DCT and seeking further feedback on your interviewing performance. If you received 8 interviews in Phase I, it wound stand to reason that your application is competitive, at least in the context of passing the initial review stage.