Anyone in surgery with chronic illness?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

IBDCURE

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello-
I'm a 4th year MD student who wants to go into general surgery. I got a 230 on Step 1, I am in the top quarter of my class, and I did pretty well( usually around 85th percentile) on the mini board exams for the 3rd year rotations.
About 4 months ago, I started passing blood in my stool. Since I didn't have any other symptoms, my doc thought it was probably just a fissure or internal hemorrhoid and told me to return if things got worse. This past month, while I was on a very busy senior elective rotation, I started having about 6 runny, bloody bowel movements a day. Even though it was difficult at times, I never missed a day of work and was always able to do any duties assigned to me.
My doc sent me to a gastroenterologist and I had a colonoscopy today, where I was diagnosed with ulcerative colitis that he said extended about 15 cm. I suspected that I have UC for quite some time, so I wasn't really surprised.
I want to do surgery more than anything; I love the operating room, I love taking care of patients. I am very happy when I am doing it. I don't want any special exceptions or anything like that; I just want to know if there is anyone out there is surgery who is battling an illness and how you deal with it. Any input would be greatly appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

One of our interns was diagnosed with UC this past year after fainting @ home while on vacation. She had some labs drawn & was walking around with a Hemoglobin of less than 5 @ the time:eek: She was tx. with steroids but ended up having an emergent total procto-colectomy for recurrent bleeding several months later. It has been a really rough time of it for her, but for now she has gone back to work on an abbreviated schedule

Dr. Oliver,