Anyone doing a masters? Post bacc? PhD? Any other types to raise credentials?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
M

mizzoudude

I am a 3.2 overall with a 25 MCAT.

I am going to be doing a masters program in physiology and biophysics at the University of Louisville. I hope to get a 4.0 in the program and kick ass next year on the MCAT (I have already started to study and I hope to get a 30+ on it).

I hope to be employed by a hospital...trying to get a job in the ER (anyone know a good way to get a job in such a competitive department). I have lots of hospital experience. I also hope to volunteer with some local organizations.

I hope to apply to medical school in 2006 for 2007 admissions. Anyone else want to share their story? We can all work as a team and achieve our goals. Thanks all.

Members don't see this ad.

3.29 cumulative, 3.33 science. 22 MCAT (10, 5, 7)

I already have my bachelor's. I'm married, so I can't really go anywhere for a 1-year master's program. Primarily a DO applicant, so my numbers aren't really *that* bad as they are.

Currently I'm in a phlebotomy course which will finish in September. I'm hoping to quickly move into a job as a phlebotomist for the experience and the paycheck. I'm also enrolled at a community college and will work towards either a diploma in surgical tech or ADN, haven't decided yet. The added science courses will raise my grades to 3.33 / 3.46. I also intend to take some advanced sciences through UC Berkeley extension if needed.

I'm scheduled to retake the MCAT next month.

:luck:

Just keep in mind that med schools rank their applicants only by undergrad GPA (thanks to USNews and the way they list schools) so if your UG science GPA is on the low side, it might be more beneficial for you to do a post-bacc program or re-take undergrad classes. Unfortunately, most schools don't factor masters degrees into GPA rankings at all. Good luck!