Any Preventative Medicine Residents out there??HELP!!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ghandoc

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
hi there,
i'm a 2nd year med student interested in doing preventative medicine residency after med school. i've always been interested in Public health so i'll be very excited to do this residency.

i have a couple of questions ...
1. i'm told by most schools that i have to do a transitional year of clinical work before getting into the preventative residency...how easy is it to transiition or get inot the transitional year and then get into the preventative residency>?
2. How stressfull/tiresome are those 2 years of prevenative residency. i know the transitional year will probably be stressfull but how are those 2 years like?
i don't have an MPH so i'll be getting it then.
3. do you personally some docs who do not have a primary care speciality but only have preventive medicine and what do they do? i'm just a little nervous about doing just preventive medicine...what are the job prospects?? how much are they paid? and do they feel like the years of training as an MD/ the clinical skills etc they learned come into use at all in their day to day careers? its really hard to find anyone who's done what i want to do.
Also i'm originally from Ghana and i want to go home and help with this residency cos i feel like a lot of our health problems are preventable. but i'd like to work here for a while and gain some experience to do that.
please let me know what you think, in a bind here.....
thanks

Members don't see this ad.

The American College of Preventive Medicine is one of their societies. You should contact them; they may be able to provide you some names of folks in practice who are in/near your area. I think you will get the best info from someone who has gone that route.