Any predictions as to why or when psychiatry is going to crash? Everyone is talking about a boom, bubble, and burst cycle.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

nebuchadnezzarII

CALI born and raised.
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a 4th year medical student hoping to match into psychiatry. A lot of the threads I've read here indicate that at some point soon, the field is going to crash from over-saturation or some other vague reason. There seems to be this feeling that the "pendulum will swing" in the opposite direction and growth of the field will dry up. Going on this interview season alone, I was shocked to see the massive increase in applicants. Last year, it appears 1 in 6 (approximately 17%?) of applicants didn't match into psychiatry. There's no doubt that it is a competitive specialty now and will be more so this year.

Does anyone have any thoughts or predictions on this? What is the outlook for people just starting their training in psychiatry? Will the job market be more competitive and less rewarding?

Members don't see this ad.

Current forecast for psychiatry for the next 5 years will include rising competitiveness amongst medical student applicants, and residents seeking to jump ship from their current specialty. This competitive trend will continue year over year. Driving this demand is declining health care market forces and the ability of Psychiatry to escape this mess. The ability to abstain from hospital based practices, and preserve the integrity of what Physicians have been for thousands of years by opening and managing their practices. This level of freedom is priceless and as more people became aware, so too shall the drive to become a Psychiatrist.