Any PM&R positions available for displaced LSU residents?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

wscott

20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello to all,

I am a fourth year resident at Louisiana State University's PM&R program. Due to Hurricane Katrina, it is likely our program will be reconstructing itself through the remainder of my residency. As such, my director and chairman have been seeking alternative options for rotations across the the country to fill our remaining time or until the residency is restored. They are also in the process of setting up alternatives within Louisiana, but several residents are interested in out of state electives, including myself and my fiancee who is also PGY-4 PM&R. The logistics may be difficult as funding from our end is limited, however if anyone has any leads we would appreciate it.

My fiancee and I were specifically looking to gain experience in the rotations we had scheduled for the remaining time this year. This included 4months of EMG (for her), O&P(both), research(both), a couple of months of inpatient, 3months of injections (me), cardiac rehab(both), Peds(me) - I believe that covers most of it.

We would like to stay together and in the same location through the duration. If you have a lead for us or my colleagues in our program, please post the program, directors name and contact info if you can.

Despite this, we take comfort in our confidence that LSU PM&R will one day soon, be the solid program the adminstration and residents worked hard to create prior to this disaster.

Thanks for your input

Members don't see this ad.

I'm sorry to hear about your situation and hope things work out well for both you and your fiance.

The Medical College of Wisconsin will have an opening by January 1, 2006. They may be looking for a PGY-2/3 but I would talk to them anyways.