Any Career Changers out there?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DPTWannabe

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
This is my first post on the DPT forum. I am a middle aged guy who has been very financially sucessful as a CPA/CFO type for a number of years. I have had a few good years of real job satisfaction and I've also had quite a few years of stress and unhappiness. The truth is I have been burnt out on accounting and finance for some time and now I find myself laid off as well. I am ready for a re-invention! After spending much time contemplating this I have zeroed in on the Physical Therapy profession. I have given months of thought and research into other options but I just keep coming back to the PT field. I am thinking hard now about making the plunge in the next year or so and proceeding with preparing myself for a DPT program. I have a masters degree in accounting so I would have to start with the undergrad pre-req's and then go from there. So I'm wondering who out there has had a similiar experience with making a major change in careers?! Any advice out there? I am 48 years old with a working wife and a daughter in her third year of college. This is a big decision for me and at my age I'm about out of do-overs. I know all about the costs and the salary issues that are a hot topic with students. For me those are not major hurdles. Its not about the money for me, its about finding a career that I can be passionate about and can be happy in for a few more decades of work. I'm really hoping PT may just be it!

Members don't see this ad.