Any americans studying medicine in Ireland?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

futrmd1

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I am in the process of applying to some irish medical schools through AB. I would love to hear from fellow americans who are currently studying in Ireland or have studied at any of the irish med schools. I need information and more than anything ADVICE!!!... I am applying to TCD and NUIG for their 5 year program. I have my Bachelors in Biology, I have not taken the MCATS, and I can't say I have done much research. But I have lived in three different continents, done a lot of volunteering and shadowing.
here are my main questions:

1. How are you guys funding your studies, room and board, food, travel, and every other expense? Is U.S. Financial Aid enough to cover all the related costs?
2. Which schools would you recommend the most.
3. What suggestions would you have in terms of writing the essay?
4. Does the school prepare you enough to be competent enough to pass the USMLE's?
5. What can you tell me about Ireland itself as a society and the whole environment. Are they open minded, nice people?

Any advice you can provide me would be greatly appreciated and I look forward to hearing from any of you.

Members don't see this ad.

I am also an American applying and I believe that the cost is what really is pulling me back right now. From the looks of it, a majority of the people that are studying in Ireland have some support (whether big or small) from family at home. I unfortunately do not fall into that boat, and the $8,000 down payment to save a seat for admission if I was admitted is a very daunting sum that I could not afford at the current moment. This is a huge financial risk that I debate constantly (whether to go abroad and really gain a greater experience of medicine in the world, or to hunker down in the US and try for a US position).