any advice?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

zestypeas

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
This is going to sound extremely dumb, but I am need of some advice...

I'm in my final semester of senior year, and am only just starting to consider PT. (That's the dumb part - let's just say that I was never really given the option of thinking about doing anything else other than your "more common" pre-health major).

I have applied to Master's programs in Biology, so I hope to do that next year before applying for PT schools, but when I looked at applying for PT programs, all of the pre-reqs are for undergrads. Does anyone know what the likelihood is for being accepted after getting an M.S. degree?

As I stand right now, I generally meet the minimum requirements (except for voluntary/paid experience) - but would it be advisable to continue with an M.S. degree to try and get a higher GPA (mine was killed with a bunch of science courses not needed for PT school), or should I take a year off to work and gain experience before applying?

I know applying for PT schools can be competitive, so I just thought I'd ask you guys for your opinion.

Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

If you want to go for the MA in Bio, then go for it-- however, if I were in your situation, I would skip out on the MA and go with one of two options:

1) the shorter route: go to a tech school full-time to complete the prerequisites (while getting in your shadowing hours)

2) the longer route: work full or part-time, go to school part-time, and accumulate those shadowing hours (this is how I did it so I could save money and reduce the stress of having a full courseload of those difficult prereq's like CHM and PHY)