Anxiety overload!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lesleeannc

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I was wondering if any of you would like to share your stories of being an undergrad. I am just a mere sophomore working towards my B.A. Between worrying about keeping my GPA up and trying to figure out what and how to do research when I'm not even really interested in the research part (is that bad?) I'm becoming a bit frazzled. Eventually someday I just really want to talk to people and help them but I know I don't want to just limit myself with counseling. I'm interested in working with children, teens, adults and with everything from Bi-Polar to Schizophrenia. I don't know if I should take a specialized track like Family/Children or just get my B.A in Psych and go from there. I know I need/want to go to grad school but don't know for what degree. I wouldn't mind having my own practice someday but wouldn't like that to be my only career choice.

Okay. I'm blabbering on and on but with the school year starting in 2 days and my counselors already pushing the GRE topic, I'm filled with anxiety already. :)

So if anyone could share their stories or a word of advice or just a laugh or anything that would great.

Also, I'm so happy to have found this board!

Members don't see this ad.

A Ph.D. in clinical psych is not your only option here. LCSWs and other masters levels providers provide therapy to a wide variety of patients and populations. They are however, limited to counseling/psychotherapy for the most part. Some can practice independently, some can not, depending on the state. You say you don't want to limit yourself to therpay, but I think the key question may be....what else do you want to do? It is true that a Ph.D in clincial or counseling psych does open up many more doors, as well as better pay.