Another Postbacc vs SMP opinion post?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sloppypapi

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
The decision seems to be made case by case, so here's my situation:

cGPA: 3.24 ( upward trend, my transcript shows that I really busted my ass during senior year)
sGPA: 3.0

My biggest concern is to meet the general prerequisites. I've got consistent B/B+ in the chemistries/ physics, and As in English, but I've got a C and D in first year Biology. Now here's the kicker: I majored in Bio, and have proved my competence by getting As in my upper division Biology courses. However, I don't want to let technicalities prevent me from an admission, so I'd rather retake General Bio, knowing I could quite easily get As. (I also got a C in a calculus class, which I figure I'd retake as well)

-Is it best to enroll in a formally-structured post-bacc program and retake all pre reqs, even the ones I received Bs?
-Or should I DIY and only retake the classes in which I received a C or lower? (Yes, I'm punching myself in the face for not retaking as an undergrad, I was ill-informed)
-Is an SMP worth considering in my case? Even if I do well in an SMP, will it address my major concern and patch up the existing weaknesses in my transcript?

Y'all... I spent like 2 months thinking that applying for a 2-year Master's in a science was the answer, but apparently many adcoms don't consider graduate GPA as strongly. I'm done with juggling different options. I want a plan that I can confidently stick to!

BTW: I'm URM female, non-trad with a fairly solid application apart from GPA and scores. I've been told I could probably get into a medical school straight away, but I don't want to sell myself short or tarnish my chances by applying with Cs and a D in my prereq courses.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: