Anesthesiologist Assistant, Anesthetist Programs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted650999

Hello,

I am just posting here in regards to anesthesiologist assistant programs. I absolutely love anesthesiology and think that this would be a great career for me. My volunteer and shadowing experiences in anesthesia were very positive and I really enjoyed being in that environment. I was just wondering what my chances would be for such a program. I have my pre-medical Bachelor's degree in Biology with a Chemistry minor. I recently applied to an AA program I am really interested in, and my GPA is a 3.75 (cumulative) and my MCAT score is a 26. I am just wondering if anyone has any insights to the acceptance rates, or averages for accepted students, because I couldn't find much info in regards to this. Does anybody know how many people apply for how many seats? I believe it is around 30-45 seats per program, but I was just wondering if one program is more competitive than others. I know it must be pretty hard to get in, but was just wondering if anyone had any more information. For example, I know on some websites for CRNA program admissions that on average, 100 students apply and 28 get accepted, or something to that effect. However, I could not find any information like this in regards to anesthesiologist assistant programs. Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

AA programs are extremely competitive, on the order of 10:1 applicants:accepted or worse Most applicants apply to several programs. Your GPA sounds fine - I have no clue about the MCAT scores. The programs vary in size from only about 5 at Quinnipiac to 40-50 at Emory.

In addition to what jwk has said, does the program you're looking into place value on HCE? Since you didn't mention having any I'm going to assume you probably don't have much/any, as such you should obviously avoid programs which place emphasis on HCE.