anesthesia vs pathology

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pathman1

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, i am a 3rd yr medical student trying to decide between path and anesthesia. I have pretty much completed my rotations and am basing my decision through a process of elimination. I have boiled it down to anesthesia or path, since i am looking for a good lifestyle field, w/good hours (money is not very important to me). I was wondering if anyone knew which field (anesthesia or path) carries more liability? Which is more stressful? I know anesthesiologists make more money (but again this not extremely important to me). If you mess up in anesthesia--does that mean you're branded by the surgreons as a poor anesthesiologist and they may chose not to work with you? I know the fields are on opposite sides of the spectrum but just curious if anyone had any feedback.

Members don't see this ad.

pathman1 said:
Hello, i am a 3rd yr medical student trying to decide between path and anesthesia. I have pretty much completed my rotations and am basing my decision through a process of elimination. I have boiled it down to anesthesia or path, since i am looking for a good lifestyle field, w/good hours (money is not very important to me). I was wondering if anyone knew which field (anesthesia or path) carries more liability? Which is more stressful? I know anesthesiologists make more money (but again this not extremely important to me). If you mess up in anesthesia--does that mean you're branded by the surgreons as a poor anesthesiologist and they may chose not to work with you? I know the fields are on opposite sides of the spectrum but just curious if anyone had any feedback.