This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

gas_guide

Reaction score
This is a guide for anesthesiology away rotations for medical students, a specific topic that frequently shows up in SDN and reddit threads. It is a collection of frequently asked questions that have been answered previously on SDN. I wrote this in service to future medical students interested in anesthesiology, and in the hopes that other students, residents, and attending physicians contribute. I realized it would have been useful to have this guide around this time last year so I'm posting this in December as it is the best time for 3rd year students to start planning their 4th year and choosing a specialty.

About me: I am a medical student that completed 3 anesthesia away rotations in summer-fall 2018. My board stats are average for the specialty (see NRMP charting outcomes).

Disclaimer: This is for advice only from a medical student standpoint, and is originally posed to SDN. I am not a program director, or in any way associated with the residency selection process. My experiences may not be representative depending on process changes since this writing. It is meant to be a free-use guide, and it should be modified over time to account for changes in medical education and residency matching.

BASIC INFORMATION:

1. An away rotation is a 2- or 4-week elective rotation typically completed in the final year of medical school before residency matching. The student rotates as a visitor at a hospital outside of their program. They are optional depending on specialty.

2. VSLO (prev. VSAS) is a website built to standardize the away rotation process. It is normally how you apply for an away rotation. You need your medical school to give you access to the site before you can begin browsing programs and sending applications. Normally medical students obtain access during winter (Jan/Feb) of their third year.