An Undergrad In Need of Serious Help

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Solracselbor

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I am facing some undergrad anxieties, primarily with the GRE’s. I am an undergrad at cal state university long beach. I have one semester of research experience (which I am currently doing) which, unfortunately, is concentrating around cognition as opposed to my field of interest—clinical. I have a 3.7 overall gpa (but it may drop some after this intermediate stats class :(). I am taking a upperdivision course on clinical interviewing where I am already performing client-centered therapy as well as gestalt therapy on other students (I don’t know how much this will help for grad school).

My main concern is getting accepted into a Clinical Ph.D program , where GRE’s are highly regarded (which I hear is most clinical programs). I have not yet taken the GRE’s but am scheduled to take it in early November. The problem is that I have not studied for them and like the SAT’s (which I scored a 1010:1600) I am afraid I will also have low scores on the GRE’s. I am just angry because the GRE’s, I feel, will not reflect accurately on my capabilities (I.e. in high school I graduate with a 4.3gpa and scored low on the SAT’s, yet I am still doing well in college). I am a minority with a low family income and cant afford the prep classes for the GRE. Therefore, I am relying heavily on the Barrons book, but I worked full time over the summer and had no time to study and am taking classes full-time now, and can hardly find any study time.