AMA: OMS Internship Application Process

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

oms321

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I’m a first year intern at JPS – specializing in OMS. Let me know if you have any questions about the application and interview process. If I could do the application process over again, I would get more organized from the beginning. It’s too late to start researching who to contact, what to submit, and when everything is due once you’ve found you didn’t make the match. Do all the research before the match so you know what to do if you need to look for an internship.

Members don't see this ad.

I'm a D0 starting dental school fall of 2018, when is the best time to look into specialties? Are there any info session on them during first and second years? What is the point of doing GPR or AEGD?

Members don't see this ad :)
I am now D3 and planning to apply for OMS residency next cycle. My backup plan is to do internship. Many ppl said that the OMS programs will send internship program email to the applicants who are not matched. I am wondering if that is still true. Or should I be proactive and apply right away without seeing those emails?

And from what I checked, many internship programs require letter of recommendation. But if we had one writen for OMS residency in PASS system (which we are not allowed to see what they wrote.) How should we approach our program director to write new one for us for the internship application?

And how competitive the internship program is? especially the big program like MGH, Parklands, etc. Are they serious about CBSE score and GPA?

Thank you!