Am I unhireable?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

biscuitsbiscuits

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a bit stuck and I'm hoping this community might be able to provide some help or insight.

I completed my MSW ten years ago. But I never became licensed because when I graduated, I was offered a job in research that didn't require licensure. I was young and didn't have a lot of money, so I decided to accept the job and put off licensure. It wasn't really a problem for me and I enjoyed what I did, but my circumstances have changed a bit and I'd really like to go back to (or start, I guess) clinical practice.

What's out there for someone who wants more experience/training/supervision in clinical practice but may not be able to get hired for a job that would provide it? Thanks in advance for your help!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Many community mental health agencies will hire someone as long as they have a qualifying degree and some experience. These are not the best paying clinical positions, but you can make enough money to live until you get licensed and can increase your income.

Some degrees and states require clinicians to get licensed within a certain amount of time following graduation. I don't know much about the social work degree and how that applies. Whatever state you're in, you should look into this first. As long as you are still eligible to get licensed by the time you expect to complete your post-graduate clinical hours, I would encourage you to begin a clinical position somewhere (such as a community mental health center) and get the ball rolling.

I hope there is some helpful information in here for you. Best of luck.

Members don't see this ad :)