Am I Minority?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Uzbekikid

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone! Long time SDN stalker, first time user. My background is somewhat unique, but I'm not sure if it would place me in the URM category. I was born in Uzbekistan to an Uzbekistani father and Russian mother. I know the standards for URM are black, hispanic and Indian. But do I count? Thanks in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

Oh, God! *Runs*

URM's are one of the following four ethnicities:
1) American born African American.
2) Native American
3) Mainland Puerto Rican
4) Mexican American

Now, ask yourself, are you one or any combination of those four ethnicities? If not then no, you are not a URM.

Have a pleasant evening.

In order for you to be a URM, you don't just have to be from a group that's rare in medicine. You have to be from a group that's much rarer in medicine than in the general population. While you may not run into that many immigrants from former Soviet republics on the street, I think the number of us in medicine is either fairly representative or over-representative of the number of us in America.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
So a Black (US citizen or legal resident) person born in the Carribean or Africa doesn't count as an URM????

Correct. Nor does an offshore Puerto Rican. However, Mexican American immigrants are considered on a case by case basis.

This is wrong. Schools can classify URM as they wish. Many schools take "Hispanic" as a whole to count as "URM." Some schools, like Utah, consider Filipino to be URM. That said, I don't think any school would take the OP as URM.

this....Poetic silence, stop spreading misinformation...what u said applied to candidates back in 2005 or something like that...

I am black. My parents are from Martinique so I have a very French name.

Am I URM?