MD & DO Am I doing enough? DIY Postbacc abysmal GPA/okay-ish MCAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CadetK

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

First time poster here, I apologize in advance for the novel of a post. I was looking for some advice on whether or not I am doing enough for my DIY postbacc and what I could do to improve my application.

I want to first start off by saying my performance during undergrad was absolute trash. I know I did awful, but I am currently taking steps to try and improve. I graduated in 2018 with a B.S. in biology and a minor in biomedical engineering. A mixture of general immaturity and some mental health issues that were made worse by said immaturity proved to be my downfall during my undergrad years. I sought treatment for my mental health during school and it's being managed, so it shouldn't really be an issue now. I had a slight uptick in cGPA after beginning to get it together, but I think it was too late and not enough to prove I changed.

I was at my lowest point when I graduated, thinking I wouldn't be able to pull out of the hole I dug myself into. After taking a few years off from school to grow up a bit, contemplating if I truly wanted to be a physician and working full-time, I decided to right my wrongs and prove that I am not the student I once was. I took the MCAT earlier this year and managed to score alright. I then decided to enroll at a local 4-year university to start a DIY postbacc earlier this semester. I am taking 2 upper-division courses (biostatistics and genomics). However, I am trying to determine if I am doing enough to prove academic reinvention. I am planning my next semester of my DIY post-bacc and am trying to decide if I should stay the course with part-time school/full-time everything else or ditch everything else and go back to school full-time.