Am I crazy?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Prestone

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm going through it seems a quarter life crisis and the opinions of many of you could help me out. I am currently a furloughed airline pilot tired of the job and ready for a change. In life I had 2 dreams, becoming an airline pilot as well as a doctor. Obviously at 18, the flying seemed to be a lot more fun and I wish I could go back and slap myself in the face and change directions.

I am currently 22, with a 3.97 BS in Aviation Sciences: Professional Pilot / minor in Aviation management from Oklahoma State University. I graduated top 10 Senior in COE, Pi Kappa Phi, Deans List and many honor rolls and I have the opportunity to start back to school in Spring 2009 at the University fof Northern Colorado with my pre-reqs which if my calculations are right would take me about 2 years to complete. If I could pull at least a 3.75 in my post bacs, greater then 30 on my MCAT and over the 2 years accrue at least a few hundreds hours of clinical experience (volunteering), shadow a few doctors and maybe see about some research experience, how competitive would I be?? It's a complete 180 in life and I understand the costs involved and the debt I will come out of school with. Is it really worth it?? I figure I am still young, could possibly follow an airline career and have a good life but at the same time I don't want to regret passing up the opportunity to change my life twice. Anyone out there with the same experience/ thoughts please let me know!

Members don't see this ad.

Well, I can't say anything about it being "worth it" because as you can see, I'm just a pre-med myself, but overall, I think you're already a step or two ahead the traditional pre-med.