Am I A Minority?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

premedmind

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am 50% Puerto Rican, 1st gen.....the other half of me is Persian. I kno the Persian side doesn't count.

Members don't see this ad.

I am 50% Puerto Rican, 1st gen.....the other half of me is Persian. I kno the Persian side doesn't count.

I'd say you are, but I'm not an expert in these things. Do you have a hispanic name? It might be more "believable" if you do. If you identify with the culture, then go with it, otherwise, it's not worth seeming like you're just using it to get in with ADCOMs.

even better would be if you actually spoke spanish, or you could mix what spanish you know and fill it with whatever farsi you know, and maybe just maybe the ADCOMs won't be able to tell the difference. It's risky if there's actually spanish speakers or spanish majors in the ADCOM.

However, I also have a friend who's going to med school in Puerto Rico. From my understanding the biggest hurdle in getting into them is actually being Puerto Rican, which I feel makes you qualified.

Members don't see this ad :)
Moving this thread to the Underrepresented in Healthcare forum where I think the OP will get more advice.

OP, you might want to take a look through this forum - there's some good information here on URM status and other's opinions.

I was interviewed in Spanish just fyi.....if you claim Hispanic all if fair...
Heh. Interestingly, I was interviewed in Spanish too at a couple of schools after mentioning on my app that I spoke Spanish. It's definitely *not* a good idea to lie about whether you speak another language, regardless of what background you hail from!

Did u put down on your app that your were fluent in spanish?