allopath learning OMT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Adcadet

Long way from Gate 27
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
hey all -
I'm about to start medical school (allopathic) in the fall (see sig), and am very curious about OMT. The philosophy of osteopathic medicine largely coincides with my views, which does not in any way seem incompatible with a solid education in any type of medical school. However, as an allopathic student I expect I'll get no exposure to OMT. How can one learn more about OMT and even how to perform OMT if not at an osteopathic medical school?

Thanks!
Adcadet

Members don't see this ad.

There apparently are some OMT fellowships that MDs can do. One of our OMT instructors is an MD pediatrician who completed such a program.

Originally posted by DrMom
There apparently are some OMT fellowships that MDs can do. One of our OMT instructors is an MD pediatrician who completed such a program.

you mean like a 1 or more year training program after a residency?

Members don't see this ad :)
I take it you're talking about Dr. Mills? I've heard she is awesome too!

If you want to do OMT, it's quite easy. You need to know two basic things. 1) Anatomy-you get this at any medical school
2) Awesome Palpation Skills

If you have these two things down you can pick up OMT without any problems. The AAO offers a few different classes for MD's to "catch up" to DO profeciency through CME events. If you know your Anatomy and can Palpate, the principles you learn at these classes will be easily applied. My suggestion is you spend your time at allopathic school developing your palpation skills. I recommend: "Palpation Skills:Assessment and Diagnosis Through Touch" by Leon Chaitow, DO, ND.

If you want a good basic book in OMT, try Greemans "Principles of Manual Medicine" It's pretty good. Good luck!