Aiming for Step 1 score of 240+

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

YuniCresta

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi! I am a second year MD student taking the step 1 in july 20. My semester ends May 11 which gives me about 9 weeks to prepare. Anyone has any suggestion or tip on how to prepare during those 9 weeks if I'm aiming for 240s? Things to do and things to avoid doing. I have uWorld, Rx, Pathoma, sketchy and FA 2018. How would be the best way to use these resources?

Also, any study schedules to give me ideas are welcome

Members don't see this ad.

Uworld, Pathoma, First Aid, Sketchy Micro. Of those Pathoma was my personal favorite and in my opinion the best. Uworld is key also. Soak up those explanations.
Thats what I would use, and that’s it. I used BRS Physio, but that was a complete waste of time.
I also used USMLERx Videos, they were okay, I just felt it made getting through a thorough first pass of First Aid a bit more tolerable. I would do 3-4 NBME CBSE exams throughout your study period to track your progress.

Seems to be a lot of hype about Boards&Beyond these days but I didnt use it so can’t comment on it. I think probably not necessary

240s isnt going to impress anyone. aim higher and try not to hit under 240, ideally 250.

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
240s isnt going to impress anyone. aim higher and try not to hit under 240, ideally 250.
I mean hell I'd take a 240...christ the standards are high on here

Reactions: 29 users
late July test and 9 weeks? I wish I went to your school.

Reactions: 2 users

You have no idea whatsoever what this poster's goals are. No one is impressed by your internet posts.

Reactions: 20 users
What is a 240, like the 70th percentile? Among an already accomplished/competitive peer group...

Based on charting outcomes, 240s for an MD is competitive for almost all specialties.