After reading the Negative threads...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

HumptyDumptyMil

Almost done...
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
So after reading through the past couple years of threads on this forum, it seems that the negatives of military medicine seem to outweigh the postives in my opinion. It also seems that the negatives are due to the administrative issues(lack of staffing, out-of-date facilities, etc.)

Being a optimistic pre-med student, I did find one thread that introduced a article about how major reforms are being planned for the next several years. I was hoping I can get feedback from the anti-HPSP people about whether or not they think the proposed changes will help the situation. Below is the actual article. (FYI, i'm considering AF HPSP and am starting med school Fall '06. Decided on AF, because they seem more flexible concerning residency options than Navy. Army just didnt interest me)

BRAC process revamps medical system

by Jim Garamone
American Forces Press Service

5/13/2005 - WASHINGTON (AFPN) -- Defense Department officials have used the Base Realignment and Closure process to transform the way military medicine operates.

Officials said medical facilities will become more joint, will consolidate where patients reside and will become state-of-the-art.

"We want to rival Johns Hopkins or the Mayo Clinics," said Dr. William Winkenwerder Jr., assistant defense secretary for health affairs.

Defense Secretary Donald H. Rumsfeld delivered his recommendations for realignments and closures to the BRAC commission here May 13. The medical recommendations are part of this process.

The recommendations mean changes to military medicine in the nation's capital and San Antonio, as well as changes in many other military health facilities in the United States.