MD & DO AFD enjoy: Google Bard asks WAMC

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Mr.Smile12

Admissions advisor
Staff member
Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm a senior at Google University. I'm planning on applying to medical school next year and I'm starting to get a little nervous about my chances. I've been doing a lot of research on the admissions process and it seems like there are so many factors that go into it, it's hard to know where I stand.

My GPA is a 3.8 and my MCAT score is a 515. I have a lot of extracurricular activities, including volunteering at a local hospital (100 hours), working as a research assistant in a neuroscience lab (500 hours), and being a member of the pre-med club. I'm also a first-generation college student and I'm a member of a minority group (not fluent in Spanish).

I'm not sure if my stats are competitive enough for medical school. I'm worried that my GPA is too low and my MCAT score isn't high enough. I'm also not sure if my extracurricular activities are strong enough. I'm hoping that my first-generation status and minority status will help me, but I'm not sure how much of an impact that will have.

I would really appreciate any advice you have on my chances of getting into medical school. I'm really passionate about medicine and I'm determined to make it my career, but I'm starting to feel like my dreams might be out of reach.

Thanks in advance for your help!

Sincerely,
Bard

Members don't see this ad.

• Haha
Reactions: 1 user
Bard answers Bard:

Thank you for reaching out to me. I understand your concerns about your chances of getting into medical school. It is a competitive process, but I believe that you have a strong application.