Advice to create better habits and stay motivated during high school?

Future Doc1

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a freshman but I am at the end of my freshman year. I didn't really do that well because I started high school at a very rigorous and intense college prep program that I was not use to the years before. Every class with the exception of electives are required to be advanced or Pre-AP and they make the students take at least one AP class a year ( they strongly recommend more) to stay in. I really think this program can help me, and aid in my dream of becoming a doctor. I would like to stay in it; Any tips?

Members don't see this ad.

First you need to figure out what your problem is... are you not grasping the concepts, is your studying ineffective, ect. Then try different study methods and figure out which one works best.

Also, when starting out with new teachers I always go all out studying for the first test because I have no idea what to expect, then once you've aced the first one and gotten the feel for how much effort is required you can back it down a bit and save yourself from burning out.

If the program's too intense for you, then it's too intense. High School stuff won't matter to Med Schools but it will matter when you're applying to UGs and looking for scholarships. It's best to keep up a good GPA so you're a more competitive applicant later on... if you can isolate your problems though and correct them, there should be no need to leave the program.

Other than that just keep working hard and do things you enjoy.

There are two parts to my advice: