Advice please; realistic chances for Surgery in US after 2 years of Prelim

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Keky

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Guys am in a very terrible situation and I need advice. I had just finished my PGY2 Prelim Surgery at big acadamic program, unfortaunetly I went unmatched, mainly because of poor planning and bad luck. My background is FMG from a poor third world country, 4 years since graduation >270 in both step 1 and 2, 4 publications, I had good evaluations and strong letters from faculty I worked with in the past 2 years, many praised my hard work, knowledge and strong work ethics. My absite scores are 99th percentile for PGY1 and PGY2 years.

I had comments from two faculties about my technical skills development mid 2nd year, per my PD a big component of it is confusion about laterality. I am left handed and I went back and forth between operating right handed and left at multiple points in the past two years. My PD didnt take those comments lightly and he promised to support me for PGY2 rather than PGY3 by around mid year, so I ended up applying to PGY2 vacancies only; since PGY2 catagoricals are very rare for posting at APDS; I applied to 2 spots throughout the year, I was interviewed in one and wasnt offered a position. I didnt apply to the match in both years because the general consensus that our PD secure us spots outside the match so we dont go again through the process.