Advice/opinions on Doctors and Parents

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TNP

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a freelance writer and contributing editor for a magazine called The New Physician. I've enjoyed reading the comments on this site and wondered if anyone out there who is juggling both parenthood and medical training (whether it's you or a spouse/partner who is in training) might be willing to share what it takes to make it work for an upcoming story I am preparing on the topic. Have you made a choice not to have children because of the demands of being a doctor? That's interesting to me, too.

If you have something to share on this topic, please feel free to send me an e-mail or private message.

Thanks very much,
Beth McNichol

Members don't see this ad.

I believe that most of the people who post in this particular forum are pre-medical and not yet in med school. However, it might help if you check out this forum: http://forums.studentdoctor.net/showthread.php?t=155518 b/c a few people who are contemplating juggling medical school and children have posted there.

As for myself, I have no idea how I would handle having children while going to medical school, but I never pictured waiting another 6 or 7 years to have children. So it looks like I will have to struggle with this issue sometime in the future as well.

Good luck with your article. :)

TNP said:
what it takes to make it work

I think you have to be willing to see your children much less than you would like. I have a two year old daughter and will be starting med school next summer. Not being able to spend a lot of time with her is going to be one of the disappointing things about this career. Even now, working full time and taking pre-med classes part-time has been a sacrifice. I just hope she doesn't grow up to resent her daddy for not being there more often.

Members don't see this ad :)