Advice on moving across the country with multiple pets?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Catlady5530

Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I will be moving from california to missouri for vet school soon. I have moved across the country alone in the past as I am a non trad student and almost 28 but I have acquired 5 cats during my time in undergradšŸ± does anyone have advice on long travel with cats. Ideally flying would be easier but it is only easier if you have 2 cats lol. I have thought through the idea of family members each flying with 1-2 cats but this would be sooo expensive and I refuse to put them in cargo. Also leaving them in california is not an option. So I plan to utilize a lot of gabapentin and stay in pet friendly hotels as we drive there. But Iā€™m wondering if anyone has tips/tricks for a multiple day drive with multiple cats! Should I use big crates for each cat?are there any products you recommend? Mostly Iā€™m just worried about their stress and keeping them as comfortable as possible. Any advice helps!!

Members don't see this ad.

Following! I also will be moving across the country (driving) with two cats, one of which gets very carsick. I use gabapentin but it barely touches him... it makes me feel so badly but leaving them at home is not an option. Any advice?

doing the same but with multiple dogs! unsure of how to transport them yet but this is probably my biggest worry right now.

Members don't see this ad :)
I went from MA to MN with a dog, cat, and chinchilla (and my fiance!). I drove my car and had my dog and chinchilla in the car. My fiance drove a uhaul with the cat and she rode in a carrier. We took 3 days for the drive and stayed over at pet friendly hotels. Gabapentin was given to all animals and everything went pretty smoothly!