Advice on applying to UK schools?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pushkin

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a US citizen and resident, but I would like to apply to some UK med schools, such as GKT. Do I start by filling out the online UCAS form? The UCAS website says it's for "undergraduate" applications. I already have a bachelor's degree. Should I fill it out anyway? Can anyone help me out by telling me more about the application process?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I'm canadian and I applied to medical and pharmacy schools in the UK last year.
What I did was I contacted the british consulate and I got their education office to send me a paper application. I'm sure you can request a package from UCAS directly. I think the paper version is more convenient because you write in as much as you can without character limitations.

Most programs are "undergraduate entry" because the medical degree in the UK is an undergraduate degree (bachelor of medicine, bachelor of surgery = MBBS or MBChB). Some programs do have graduate entry, where having a bachelors degree can knock off a year of the program. You'll have to consult each school individually though or browse through other threads on this forum.

someone can correct if i'm wrong on any of this...

hope this helps!

I do know that St George's has a graduate entry medical course- but I'm not sure how long the course is....

Members don't see this ad :)
Choda said:
I'm canadian and I applied to medical and pharmacy schools in the UK last year.
What I did was I contacted the british consulate and I got their education office to send me a paper application. I'm sure you can request a package from UCAS directly. I think the paper version is more convenient because you write in as much as you can without character limitations.