Advice needed: starting work as 1099, what do I need to do?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

WitchDoctor

magical healer to be
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey folks,

I just signed onto a new gig working as an independent contractor at a new hospital. I have ZERO experience with this. For those that have gone through it, what advice do you have on how to start?

Do I need to immediately find a financial advisor or a CPA or can this wait?
I'm planning on starting an LLC. Do this myself or hire a professional?
Do I open a business account?
Look for health insurance?
Man, I feel like I'm in over my head, any bits of advice or wisdom you have, please send it my way. I'm really just trying to strategize what initial steps I need to take.

Members don't see this ad.

A financial advisor wouldn’t be what you need it would be a CPA, however, with some foundational knowledge this is usually straight forward. If you do decide to go the CPA route then you need one that’s competent in your situation. Like various medical specialties, CPAs may be geared more towards certain things. An LLC taxed as a sole proprietorship is probably your best bet although an LLC isn’t absolutely necessary, either, but can be useful to get an EIN instead of giving out your SS number. Setting up an LLC with your state is usually pretty straight forward. A separate account is the easiest and cleanest but not absolutely necessary.

Being an independent contractor, your malpractice insurance is typically covered by whatever group you’re contracted with but double check this! You’re responsible for all your other benefits so if you want health insurance then you need to get your own. Get appropriate disability insurance, term life insurance, etc. Read up on a solo 401k assuming you don’t have any current IRA balances. Don’t do a SEP-IRA so you can still do a backdoor Roth without running into pro-rats issues.