Advice Needed - Post Bacc, Medical School, and Peace Corps

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PCTanz

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a non-traditional potential medical school student who really needs advice in terms of process in applying and realistic chances at various schools.

Background: I graduated from a top 20 undergrad in 2012 with majors in political science, spanish, and biosciences. Throughout my time as an undergrad, I participated in many service oriented extracurriculars (both medical and non-medical) which initially sparked my interest in the field of health, though i was always planning on applying to law school. I graduated from undergrad with a 3.8 GPA (3.65 science) and joined the peace corps for two years serving as a health education teacher and a high school chemistry / biology teacher in Tanzania (a complicated situation with a fellow volunteer led me to taking on both roles). From here my interest in health grew further and I earned a masters in public health abroad before joining Doctors without Borders for a year as a health promoter (almost like a public health programming lead). Through all of these experiences I have realized that a career in health and medicine is my passion, and that I wish to forgo law school in pursuit of an MD. However, being a non-traditional applicant having been out of undergrad for 5+ years, I am unsure of how to go about applying.