Advice needed on potential Caribbean transfer

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Marche med student

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all. I'm seeking some advice in regards to potentially transferring from one Caribbean medical school to another. I don't want to share which school because I'm not sure if my concerns are grounded in fact and I don't want this post to scare other students.

I'm currently done basic sciences and no longer in the Caribbean. I'm a relatively strong student and have qualified through my schools process to write the USMLE. I'm thinking of transferring after I get my step 1 score. I understand that transferring has risks, and that no school is perfect. Many of my classmates transferred to other schools during basic sciences, but I wasn't convinced that this was worth it for me. I could handle the island living and the med school environment, so I didn't want to disrupt my life and make a gamble that I may come to regret.

Since my next step after the USMLE is clinicals, the island that the school has it's basic sciences campus on doesn't matter to me. I'm also okay with moving anywhere for clinicals. What I do care about is the administration of the school, the clinical rotation experience and student support.