This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

saratonin

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all,
I really need help deciding what I should do in the fall. I currently am working at the NIH as a postbac researcher. It is a great job, I am learning a lot, and I feel that staying here would be great. I will also be getting a first author publication, probably whether I leave here or not.

I applied to medical school last cycle, I only got two interviews, 1 MD, 1 DO, both resulting in waitlists. I also applied to the Tulane ACP program and was waitlisted. If I get off any of these waitlists, I will surely go to those programs as a given.

I don't know what to do if I do not get in. I have been accepted into the TUFTS MBS program. I was considering applying to Drexel instead (closer and I am a PA resident) or do a postbac at UPenn instead.

Here are my stats: science gpa: 3.2 Overall gpa: 3.5 MCAT 509/128/127/127/127. I have been told by several adcoms that my extracurriculars are above average (3 years of research, shadowed 10+ doctors, 2 years EMT experience, multiple medical relief trips, 500+ hours volunteering, TA in college, 3 sport collegiate varsity athlete, numerous leadership positions in multiple school organizations, etc.)

I do not know if I should stay at the NIH, go to tufts, or do something else. Please help me with any advice or insight or suggestions!

quick note: I realize that my gpa needs work, which is why I am considering an SMP or postbac. I am also not completely against retaking the MCAT.

Members don't see this ad.

Your GPA is definitely on the lower end and your MCAT is pretty solid so I don't think you have to retake it. If I were you, and had to reapply, I'd do one of these things:
1.) Do the SMP at Tufts and really boost your resumé and get a solid GPA at the program. Then apply once you are done with the program. If your MCAT expires after you're done, retake it.