Advice From An Rcsi Grad

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

big-gun

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey,

I've been reading these forms and I can see many people have questions about how things work at the RCSI. There have been a couple of posts praising the RCSI and a equal number crying foul. I feel the truth lies somewhere in the middle.

I graduated from the RCSI in May 2005. I did VERY well academically and matched to my first choice residency program in North America. What's wrong with that? Why would I want to complain? Plain and simple, the product the RCSI sold me was a rip-off and far different from that which they advertised.

I spent 5 years and close to a quarter of a million dollars. I can speak from experience. If you are thinking of going there, here are some things you should know.

1. Cost: Yes it costs a small fortune to attend the RCSI. Furthermore, the price of living in Dublin is steep. Don't believe the hype you read on these forms - it will take a long time to pay back the debt you incur. 5 years of med school plus 5 years of residency, believe me man that debt is going to be huge. You make a lot of money as a doctor, but it also costs a lot of money to be a doctor. By the time you have paid your malpractice insurance, made a mortgage payment, paid for a car, bought a wedding ring and put your kid through school, all of a sudden that $350,000 per year doesn't seem so big and won't go very far towards your $500,000 debt. Be very suspicious of the RCSI being so cosy with the loan companies... very suspicious.