This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MikeS95

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys, just wanted to ask what you guys would recommend i do to prepare for the math section of the exam. I have limited knowledge of pre calc/ calc because i took the classes 3-4 years ago and most of what i learned slipped my mind already. What is the best way to make sure to ace this section given the circumstances?

Members don't see this ad.

Hi guys, just wanted to ask what you guys would recommend i do to prepare for the math section of the exam. I have limited knowledge of pre calc/ calc because i took the classes 3-4 years ago and most of what i learned slipped my mind already. What is the best way to make sure to ace this section given the circumstances?
I used my college books and notes

hey marina thanks for answering, you took the pcat already right? how heavy was it on pre-calc/ calc and what other type of math was on it if u dont mind me asking
Mine was very heavy on calculus and algebra, a little bit of statistics but simple statistics

Members don't see this ad :)
Answer the easy math questions first, and after going through the entire section come back around to do the hard ones. I guessed randomly on many calculus problems that looked too lengthy (ones with complex integrals, trig identities, optimizations, etc) and still got a decent 85 in math. Word problems are good ones to come back to later since they require you to interpret the text.

Sometimes plugging and chugging the multiple choice answers into problems works well.

The calculator they give is time consuming to use so try not to rely on it. Getting good at estimating and mental math helped me a lot. Math is the last section of the test and I was brain dead by then so I had to use the calculator a couple times lol.