Advice for older, non-trad MS3

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

starburster

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Looking for some advise. I am an MS3 and I have been very interested in PM&R since before starting medical school. I graduated university with a bachelors in business, went back to medical school after a few years and I will be 32 when I apply to the next cycle.

How accurate are the step 1 score requirements listed on FREIDA? I am not happy about my step 1 score but I am confident that my step 2 score will greatly improve. How do I know which programs have auto screening for step scores? It would kinda suck if you have a poor step 1 score, get screened out but have a stellar step 2 score.

Also, how important are publications like case reports? I only have one publication that isn't in PM&R but during my PM&R electives, how many should I do to buff up my CV?

Members don't see this ad.

-I was older than you when I applied to programs.

-Some programs have hard cut offs for board scores...some do not...many that do don't publicly list them. Best advice I can give you is contact programs you may be interested in and ask them. So while it sucks, reality is, some program screen with Step scores. Improving on step 2 like you are planning def wont hurt you. Apply broadly when the time comes.

-I had zero publications/case reports and had plenty of interviews and matched my top choice program. Research isn't the only way to buff up you CV. A good story from your non traditional background can go a long way--especially if you've shown interest in the field of PM&R throughout medschool.

You will be the same age as me when you start your PGY-2 year. Who are you calling old? :)