Advice: Am I competitive enough to get into MPH?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dazed007

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys :),
I was wondering if I could ask you guys how competitive I am to get into an MPH. I'm really hoping to get into a 1 year program outside of Chicago such as Columbia, Harvard, or elsewhere...but I'm concerned because I don't really have any work experience in the public health field. I am a second year med student but I took a year off between my first and second year just to relax and I'm concerned that I don't really have the experience they are looking for. I'm also worried my verbal score will keep me from getting into certain programs.

my stats:

Undergrad: Northwestern - Biology Major
GPA: 3.94 MCAT 31Q V: 7 P: 11 B: 13
Med school: M2 currently at University of Illinois at Chicago

I figure I have 8 months until I apply to the program but I'm not sure what I should do to get recs and also what kind of experiences will help supplement an interest in international health and public health. Any suggestions or feedback would be really appreciated :)

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

dazed007 said:
I was wondering if I could ask you guys how competitive I am to get into an MPH. I'm really hoping to get into a 1 year program outside of Chicago such as Columbia, Harvard, or elsewhere...but I'm concerned because I don't really have any work experience in the public health field. I am a second year med student but I took a year off between my first and second year just to relax and I'm concerned that I don't really have the experience they are looking for. I'm also worried my verbal score will keep me from getting into certain programs.

my stats: