Adventures in Veterinary Medicine...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Kara31191

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
AVM is this program at Tufts University. I have been debating for a long time whether or not to apply. It's 2500 dollars, and quite frankly, I am not rich, and this would be all of my savings. So here's the thing, I work at a clinic already. I'm getting loads of experience, and I will work as a technician my senior year. How much experience could this possibly give me as a High School student? Is it really worth it?

My vet has never worked with it, but she did go to tufts. She said "Pay me 2500 dollars and I'll let you do whatever you want." HAHA.

But- They will tell us a lot about admissions, career opportunities, etc. But do I really want to pay twenty five hundred dollars for answers to some questions? Will it effect me if I don't bother? I mean, maybe if money wasn't such a big issue for me and my family then it wouldn't be that big of a problem. However, when is this ever the case?

I'm guessing I won't go, but is there anyone here who went to that in High School who could tell me if they feel it is worth the money or not?

Thank you!

-Kara

Members don't see this ad.

I went to the adult program a couple of years ago. If you already work in a clinic *and* you already know for sure you want to be a veterinarian, then it probably isn't worth that much money. It was good for me b/c I hadn't had much experience at that time and was still on the fence.

In addition to handling some of the teaching animals to do physical exams and the like, we got to look at blood smears, discuss ethics, and they reviewed our application info to tell us what needed improving before applying to veterinary school. If you are a pre-vet major and have a decent advisor in undergrad, I'm sure it will cover the same.