ADN or ABSN or Direct Entry MSN (with prior bachelors)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ADN, ABSN, or Direct Entry MSN

• ADN

• ABSN

• Direct Entry MSN

Results are only viewable after voting.

jaye927

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone!

I need as much help as possible as soon as possible. I am currently in my last semester to graduate in with a Bachelors of Science in University Studies with an emphasis in Biology. I graduate next month. I originally wanted to go to medical school, but I don’t think that lifestyle is exactly what I want. I would have to sacrifice a lot from my personal life and finances in order to reach that. My ultimate goal is to become a Family Nurse Practitioner, but I am unsure what is the best cost opportunity for myself with my current debt. I’m 22 and I’m married, so we still have to pay for two more semesters of my wife’s schooling online (around $2,500 each semester). I also have $25,000 in student loan debt for my entire bachelors degree. I want the quickest way possible to become an FNP, but I also want to pay the least amount that I can. I have all the pre-reqs for any kind of nursing school and will end my bachelors with a 3.4 GPA. I have not taken the HESI yet and will be taking it soon. I’ve been looking into 3 kinds of programs ADN, ABSN, or Direct-Entry MSN. I will be living in rural town in AZ with my wife and this area is popular for hiring nurses with ADN’s, so that won’t be an issue finding a job. I am going to be doing a CNA program starting in January and ends in March. After that I plan on working as a CNA until I get into one of the programs.

Pros:

ADN: cost is $8000 total, can work during the program, is a local community college to where we will be living at

ABSN: faster than ADN, 12-15 months, finish with Bachelors