Adena Regional EM Residency Loses ACGME accreditation

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted436726

This has been making its way through the grapevine and is official per the ACGME website and the hospital itself. Anyone have any details on what happened? Are we looking at another Summa here?

Members don't see this ad.

Chief resident at my program just put it out to us about an hour and a half ago. From his source, they haven't given any details to the residents either . Between Hahnemann and OVMC, we may have room for a couple more displaced residents when the time comes.

Dear lord. This stuff has to stop happening. What a shame, I feel awful for the residents there. I have zero knowledge of what happened there, but it does look like from the acgme timeline they were up for their full accreditation this year, so I presume their site visit did not go well. Total speculation. Regardless, totally stinks for those residents mid training. Just an awful situation, once again.

Members don't see this ad :)
I dunno. This looks like many of the newer EM residencies- totally sketch, only 261 beds at the home campus, tiny health system. This should probably never have opened to begin with.

Reactions: 4 users
Never fully accredited by ACGME. Was an AOA program trying to transition. Probably had some stuff to fix after the initial accreditation visit and didn’t get it done.

the ADS also says that the effective date for withdrawal of accreditation is June 30 2021 so I don’t think they are orphaning any current residents.

Reactions: 1 user
2021 means the current interns can’t graduate and are orphans.

If I was ever trying to get my program accredited or pass an ACGME visit, I'd just hire whoever this HCA **** is that keeps giving ACGME ******** under the table. They've managed to open like 6 residencies in FL. ACGME just smiles. Corrupt *****s.

Reactions: 3 users